Fault-tolerant equipment

Fault-tolerant equipment exploits different sparing architectures, including redundant hardware with shared loads, duplex hardware in standby mode, triplex hardware with voting. True fault-tolerant system supports six key elements of reliability:

  • No single point of failure
  • No single point of repair
  • Fault recovery
  • 100% fault detection
  • 100% fault isolation
  • Fault containment

The combined reliability of redundant fault-tolerant system can reach as far as 1*109 MTBF (1 billion hours before failure in average).